Home / Food & Drink / Islamic ruling on being a vegetarian

Islamic ruling on being a vegetarian

Question:

Salaam

What is the Islamic ruling on being a vegetarian?

Is a Muslim allowed to be a vegetarian?

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

If one is naturally inclined to eating vegetarian dishes or vegetarian dishes agree with one’s diet or health and one does not regard meat etc to be Haram and does not regard being a vegetarian only to be rewardable, then it would be permissible.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mufti Safwaan Ibn Ml Ahmed Ibn Ibrahim

Darul Iftaa
Limbe, Malawi

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

Check Also

BRINGING ALCOHOL IN HOTEL

Question: i am running a small boutique hotel . i don’t serve alcohol or provide. …